Post Mourne Park Report

Post Mourne Park Report
Gareth Mackey Mourne Park

Grade A Winner Gareth Mackey


Saturday 29th November saw Moto Trial NI host the 2nd round of their Winter Series at Mourne Park in Kilkeel, County Down.
The event was held at this brand new trials venue thanks to the assistance of East Coast Adventure who maintain the grounds on behalf of the landowners and have strived to make it available to different sports disciplines.

There has been a massive amount of preparation put into the event to get the course set out and judging from the feedback on the day and after this seems to have paid off!

From early on Saturday over 100 competitors from all over the country assembled, waiting for the 11am start time.
Trials are split into groups based on ability and the largest of these was the A grade, over thirty riders in total.
As usual this was a fiercely fought affair, at the halfway stage Dundrum rider Brian Steele was just ahead of Gareth Mackey, Jake Hanlon and Stephen Pyper.  At the end of the 4 laps though Gareth had the most consistent trial to run out winner on his new Repsol Montesa! Jake was next home, Stephen (also on a new Repsol) was third with Brian coming home fourth, not bad for someone who has not ridden trials for a few years!!

The A twinshock grade is for older bikes and this was won by Andrew McCrory from Neal Perry, with Kyle Turner third and Jarno Holland next on a Triumph Cub.

The B grade was fought out between 24 riders with Paul Harvey putting in 4 steady laps on his Repsol Montesa (another one!!) to run out winner from Chris Houston, Mark Ballentine and Scott McNeill.

Brian Waring won the twinshock B grade on a beautiful Armstrong machine and his score was actually good enough to have placed him third overall in the B grade!!

Che Mourne Park

Local Trial man Che McStay

Grade C was without doubt the most hotly contested grade with many faultless laps by quite a few riders. However Davy Mulholland ran out winner with only one penalty all day, followed by Robert Cummings, Peter Lamb and Adrian Galloway.

Into the youth grades and in grade A Josh Hanlon easily ran out the winner from George Taylor, Jack Waring and Reece Gazzard.

Youth B was closely fought out with Jordan Nixon just holding off Stuart Tweedie for the win, Callum McAllister was third and Adam Reid fourth.

Youth C is held on both the full course and on a smaller course for younger riders on smaller bikes.
On the big course the winner was Morgan Steele followed by Andrew McCabe, and on the smaller course Dylan Smyth held off Ross Allen for the win with Matthew Lockhead third and Jonny King fourth

Youth D was won by Stuart Lappin from Shannon Smyth

Youth D was won by Harry Smyth from Dylan O’Hare

Warren from Moto Trial NI said “The weather was kind for the event after the recent wet spell and no doubt the riders and more importantly the observers were glad to see this, the observers are all volunteers and without their much appreciated help events would be impossible to organise, so thank you to all who gave their time to allow the riders to get a run out on their bikes!  I would also on behalf of the team like to thank Ian, Mark and Jenn and their team from East Coast Adventure for working with us to put on what turned out to be a great trial at a beautiful venue! Hopefully the first of many!”

Youth Mourne Park 2014

Great shoot of the D & E Youth













Gareth Mackey 3
Jake Hanlon 4
Stephen Pyper 4
Brian Steele 5

TS/ pre 65
Andrew McCrory 10
Neal Perry 18
Kyle Turner 25
Jarno Holland 31

Paul Harvey 8
Chris Houston 15
Mark Ballentine 19
Scott McNeill 19

Brian Waring 16

Davy Mulholland 1
Robert Cummings 3
Peter Lamb 4
Adrian Galloway 7

Mark Dow 102

Josh Hanlon 2
George Taylor 13
Jack Waring 17
Reece Gazzard 24

Jordan Nixon 21
Stuart Tweedie 22
Callum McAllister 25
Adam Reid 30

C big course
Morgan Steele 6
Andrew McCabe 17

C small course
Dylan Smyth 35
Ross Allen 50
Matthew Lockhead 61
Jonny King 69

Stuart Lappin 38
Shannon Smyth 60

Harry Smyth 25
Dylan O’Hare 57

Full results are available at Moto Trial NI website